So, I reported this bug over a month ago, when blueprints became available for testing. Now, with one week before release, I returned to PTR to check if it was fixed, and it’s still there.
BE WARNED: As soon as the patch goes live, save full blueprints for both your houses! If you don’t and this bug hits you, you can lose your entire work with no way to revert it!
I hastily made a low-effort video showing the bug, but since I can’t post videos here, I also made the same post in the /wowhousing community in Reddit. If you want to check it out, just search for this post’s title.
This happens if you have a blueprint of ONLY exterior or ONLY interior. Having a full blueprint (exterior AND interior) and applying it entirely won’t cause this bug. Also, I didn’t encounter issues with room-only blueprints.
If you import an exterior blueprint, and then activate Edit Mode while on your interior, almost ALL your interior decor will be instantly removed, leaving your interior empty (only the rooms will remain).
Plus, if you import an interior blueprint, then activate Edit Mode while on your exterior, almost ALL your exterior decor will be instantly removed, leaving your exterior empty (only the house itself will remain).
The bug can feed back on itself: if you lose your interior decor, then apply an interior-only blueprint to restore it, you’ll lose your exterior decor due to the bug. Only applying a full interior+exterior blueprint can stop this cycle.
This decor removal IS NOT saved in your auto-saved backup blueprints. You can’t revert it in any way but applying an existing blueprint. So, if you haven’t saved your build already, you WILL lose all your work.
The removed decor goes back to your house chest, so at least it doesn’t need to be reacquired.
Logging out and back in DOES NOT prevent this bug. You can apply an interior or exterior blueprint, log out, and when you return later as soon as you use Edit mode in the opposite stance of your house, most of the decor WILL be removed.